Move to Arca Swiss

Lately, I’ve been wanting to move to Arca Swiss plates for my camera/tripod. Currently I have Manfrotto RC2 plates for my Manfrotto tripod and monopod. If I want to take a portrait orientation image right after taking a landscape orientation photo, I have to loosen the ballhead, move the camera, make sure it’s level, then tighten the ballhead. With Arca Swiss, I can use an L bracket to go from portrait to landscape and back without moving the ballhead.
I’m debating between spending $1,700 on a new Really Right Stuff tripod and ballhead and L Bracket, or swap out the mounting plate on the top of my current tripod. The benefit to going with the RRS tripod is I’ll have higher reach. ¬†Right now, I have to lean over slightly to look through the viewfinder (I don’t like raising the center column on my tripod as it makes it less stable).

Leave a Reply

